‘Survivor’ Announces The End Of The ‘Sia Prize,’ A Bonus For Contestants From The Pop Singer

May 26, 2024 - Culture

Survivor contestants are saying see ya to a bit of prize money from pop singer/songwriter Sia.

Just two days after Survivor’s 46th season ended, host Jeff Probst announced that the Sia Prize has come to an end. Sia will no longer award money to her favorite players every season.

On May 24, Probst announced the end of her largesse on Instagram. Sia reposted it.

“After eight years, 14 seasons, 19 players, and over $1,000,000 awarded, Survivor is officially bringing the Sia Prize to a triumphant end!”

Sia reposted Probst’s statement on her Instagram Story, adding animated hearts.

“Over the many years, Sia has brought so much joy to so many players and it was always straight from her heart,” Probst said.

“So it is with tremendous gratitude and admiration to Sia that we bring to a close one of the most unique relationships a TV show could ever have with a pop star of Sia’s global wattage,” Probst added.

Sia started her tradition in 2016 after at the 32nd season’s live finale for Survivor: Kaôh Rōng — Brains vs. Brawn vs. Beauty.

“I still vividly remember the day Sia stood up in the audience during the live finale … and made her way onstage,” Probst recalled. “She was so taken by Tai [Trang]’s commitment to protecting a chicken from being eaten that she awarded him $50,000 of her own money.”

“Tai was shocked,” Probst said. “The audience was shocked, I was shocked! What was happening? Sia was onstage in her wig handing out money to a Survivor player!?”

The singer has since gifted 18 more players with various amounts of money, including seven players who each received $100,000: Rick Devens (season 38), Elaine Stott (39), Janet Carbin (39), Drea Wheeler (42), Jesse Lopez (43), Carolyn Wiger (44) and Katurah Topps (45).

The other 11 contestants who were awarded money were Donathan Hurley (36), Davie Rickenbacker (37), Aurora McCreary (38), Joe Anglim (38), Jamal Shipman (39), Owen Knight (43), Ryan Medrano (43), Lauren Harpe (44), Carson Garrett (44), Jake O’ Kane (45) and Kaleb Gebrewold (45).

“I’m really honored for Survivor to have this one of a kind association with Sia,” Probst said. “She’s in the Survivor Hall Of Fame of Superfans!”

The Sia Prize is not officially affiliated with the long-running CBS program. The winner of Survivor wins a $1 million prize.

Source link

Play Cover Track Title
Track Authors